Reading Questions

The prompts for you to consider in your reading journal for each class session will be listed below. Keep in mind that you should bring your journal with you to class.

Date Topic Question(s)
(01F) Mon., Sept. 10

(002) Tues., Sept. 11

How do historians work? In the episode, each historian offers his or her explanation for how and why they study the past. Which of these explanations did you find most intriguing, and why?
(01F) Weds., Sept. 12

(002) Thurs., Sept. 13

What is an autobiography? Based on your prior knowledge and on reading Samson Occom’s account, what do you think are the most important elements that make a piece of writing an “autobiography?”
(01F) Mon., Sept. 17

(002) Tues., Sept. 18

The Segregated Society of Jim Crow America What was your experience of learning about segregation and civil rights before this course (for example, in high school or through movies/TV)?
(01F) Weds., Sept. 19

(002) Thurs., Sept. 20

The Long Battle for Civil Rights How did Beals describe her experience of Jim Crow as a child?
(01F) Mon., Sept. 24

(002) Tues., Sept. 25

Brown v. Board of Education and the Fight over Schools Why do you think the white students felt so threatened by the presence of the African-American students at Central High School?
(01F) Weds., Sept. 26

(002) Tues., Oct. 2

Civil Rights and the Cold War Why do you think Beals included so many newspaper headlines in her narrative of the school year?
(01F) Mon., Oct. 1

(002) Thurs., Oct. 4

The Little Rock Nine OPTIONAL Free Write – Offer any reflections you like on reading Warriors Don’t Cry.
(01F) Weds., Oct. 3

(002) Tues., Oct. 9

Other Perspectives on Little Rock What’s one major difference you found between the perspectives of President Dwight Eisenhower and Arkansas Governor Orval Faubus on desegregation?
(01F) Weds., Oct. 10

(002) Thurs., Oct. 11

Laboratory Day No journal entry
Oct. 15-19 Slavery and Freedom in Antebellum America

The Abolition Movement

No journal entries
(01F) Mon., Oct. 22

(002) Tues., Oct. 23

Frederick Douglass and a Life in Slavery OPTIONAL: Free write on first half of Douglass, Narrative of the Life
(01F) Weds., Oct. 24

(002) Thurs., Oct. 25

“How a Slave Was Made a Man” How did Douglass’s experience reflect the larger experience of slavery, freedom, and abolition in antebellum America?
(01F) Mon., Oct. 29

(002) Tues., Oct. 30

Douglass as an Abolitionist Politician Would you describe Douglass’s speech as more optimistic or pessimistic about the role of slavery in the United States? Why?