HSTY 111 Course Schedule

NOTE: All dates and assignments are subject to change. Please be aware of any announcements made in class or via the course website.

Last updated: August 19, 2021

Date Topic Read to Prepare for Class Do to Prepare for Class
Thu., Sept. 2 Introduction to the Course  
  • Write in your journal

Unit 1: Contacts and Colonies

Date Topic Read to Prepare for Class Do to Prepare for Class
Tue., Sep. 7 The Indigenous Americas American Yawp, ch. 1 

During class:

  • Write in your journal
  • Complete module and quiz on taking history courses
Thu., Sept. 9 Colliding Cultures American Yawp, ch. 2
  • Write in your journal
  • Complete module and quiz on secondary sources
Tue., Sep. 14 Cultural Encounters
  • Write in your journal
  • Complete module and quiz on primary sources
Thu., Sep. 16 Becoming British America American Yawp, ch. 3
  • Write in your journal
  • Complete module on Writing in Your Own Words
Tue., Sep. 21 Imperial Growing Pains
  • Write in your journal
Thu., Sep. 23 The Maturing Colonies American Yawp, ch. 4 

In class:

  • Write in your journal
  • Complete module on Writing Effective History Papers
Tue., Sep. 28 Society and Culture in Colonial America
  • Write in your journal

Unit 2: American Revolutions

Date Topic Read to Prepare for Class Do to Prepare for Class
Thu., Sep. 30 The Imperial Crisis and Independence American Yawp, ch. 5
  • Write in your journal
Tue., Oct. 5 A War for Independence
  • Write in your journal
  • Submit newspaper exercise
Thu., Oct. 7 New Politics for a New Nation
  • American Yawp, ch. 6
  • Dunbar, Never Caught, xv–xvii, 3–32
  • Write in your journal
Tue., Oct. 12 Creating a Republic
  • Write in your journal
Thu., Oct. 14 An Empire for Liberty?
  • American Yawp, ch. 7
  • Dunbar, Never Caught, 99–134
  • Write in your journal
Tue., Oct. 19 The Meaning of Independence
  • Write in your journal
Thu., Oct. 21 Revolutions: Markets, Transportation, Communication
  • Write in your journal
Tue., Oct. 26 Uncovering Marginalized Voices
  • Write in your journal
Thu., Oct. 28 Democracy for Some
  • Write in your journal

Unit 3: A Growing and Divided Nation

Date Topic Read to Prepare for Class Do to Prepare for Class
Tue., Nov. 2 Revivals and Reform
  • Write in your journal
Thu., Nov. 4 Reform Movements in the Antebellum North
  • Write in your journal
Tue., Nov. 9 Cotton and Slavery
  • Write in your journal
  • Submit project on Revolutionary Era
Thu., Nov. 11 Veterans’ Day No class meeting  
Tue., Nov. 16 Manifest Destiny
  • Write in your journal
Thu., Nov. 18 Sections Dividing American Yawp, ch. 13
  • Write in your journal
Tue., Nov. 23 The Final Crisis
  • Write in your journal
Thu., Nov. 25 Thanksgiving Recess No class meeting  
Tue., Nov. 30 The Civil War American Yawp, ch. 14 

During class:

  • Write in your journal
Thu., Dec. 2 Reconstruction in America American Yawp, ch. 15
  • Write in your journal
Tue., Dec. 7 A New Birth of Freedom?
  • Write in your journal
Thu., Dec. 9 America in 1877 Final exam review
  • Write in your journal